{pancake heaven}

I have to start this post with an explanation. I am awful with remembering to buy silly things like syrup for pancakes. I don’t care how many times I put it on the list or add a reminder in my phone, I always get home, slap my forehead and say, “DOH.” Yup, every single time. Truth be told, I don’t really like pancake syrup anyway. So…
I have found a great alternative to ultra sweet sticky syrup! Fruit!! Cooked down and served warm. Here is the first of many that I like. I am sharing this one first because it may apply to now.
I was looking around this morning to find something I could make my “syrup” out of and ran across my half a can of pumpkin pie filling and the half a jar of molasses I had left over from a batch of pumpkin bread I made for my neighbors. I used a pancake recipe from Hannah of honeyandjam.com and modified it a bit. This is the beautiful tasty result.
{pancake heaven}

Pumpkin Sauce
1 C pumpkin pie filling
1/2 C molasses
1/2 C light corn syrup
1 t cinnamon
1 t nutmeg
1 t cloves
Combine all ingredients in medium saucepan and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer till warmed through. For more syrup like consistency simmer longer.
It tastes a little like pumpkin bread straight from the oven. My son who is as picky as they get, ooo’d and ahhhh’d over this. I will definitely be making this again.

Have a beautiful day,
Brenda

Leave a Reply

