{pink velvet cupcake}

{cupcake}

My sweet daughter actually challenged me to make these.  She asked for pink cupcakes for her birthday.  I decided to make pink velvet cupcakes instead of the traditional red velvet.  They are topped with a cream cheese frosting of my own design.

I modified the cake recipe from this one HERE.

Instead of red food coloring I used pink gel.  Only use about 1/4 of the average size paste/gel bottle.

I don’t know about you but I don’t like a CC frosting that is too cream cheese-y. (is that even a word? I doubt it lol)  I want it to taste like frosting not cheese cake.

In order to accommodate my taste I came up with this recipe.

Cream Cheese Butter Cream

1/2 block cream cheese (room temp)
1 stick butter (softened)
1 t vanilla
3 C confectioners sugar

cream butter, cream cheese and vanilla till smooth. Add confectioners sugar 1 cup at a time, beating each till combined. Continue to beat till it gets to the perfect piping consistency. If you use food coloring (my favorite is gel) add it with the vanilla to avoid a brightly colored mess or over beaten frosting. 🙂
I also added the white sprinkles immediately after with the help of Kiara who insisted that they be done just so. 🙂

We shared these with our playground friends today and I am thinking of filling the remainder of them with strawberry jam to take to MOPS on Thursday.

One Comment to “{pink velvet cupcake}”

Leave a Reply

