homemade “candy bars”

Today was very uneventful. Umm…not. I forgot to send Kale his lunch and realized this thirty minutes before his lunch hour. Oops! So I rushed off to Burger King since we were already out of the house. I got there as his line was going in to the lunch room. Whew!!! I am officially NOT the worst mom in the world. For today anyway.

This evening one of his friends came over to play Mario Kart for a bit and I made candy bars. Actually they are more like candy bites. They are so simple, too! I thank Giada of Food Network for the idea. I did not actually look up and use her recipe but I am pretty sure this is how she did it.

Kiara was begging for caramel bits from the bag while I was assembling.
Please!!!
{Candy Bites}
1 bag of caramel bits
1 bag milk chocolate chips
1 bag almond slivers

Spray 24 cupcake “holes” with butter flavored spray.
(Toast almonds before assembling if you want. I was too impatient and just used them out of the bag.) 😀
Place a small handful of almonds in the bottom of each cupcake “hole”.
almonds
Top the almonds with a small handful of caramels. Make sure to cover the almonds.
caramel2
caramel
Place in preheated oven for 15 minutes. Do not overcook!! The sides will get crunchy.

You want to have chewy centers not crunchy.

caramelmelting1
caramelmelting
Allow to cool completely!!
Melt the bag of chocolate in a glass bowl in the microwave for 2 minutes.

Stop and stir every 30 seconds.

Dip cooled caramel almond bits in chocolate and allow to cool.

chocolate

 

This is what my sweet Kiara looked like after “helping” me with the dipping part. 🙂

mmmm yummy!

kiara chocolate face

Have a beautiful day,
Brenda

3 Comments to “homemade “candy bars””

  1. I am totally making these. Looks yummy!

  2. Oh Brenda, I wish you hadn’t shared this recipe! Now that I’ve seen how easy it is, I’m going to HAVE to make some!

Leave a Reply

